http://www.kitchenfrau.com Fri, 21 Jul 2017 17:32:51 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.4.10 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/cropped-Site-Icon-512-px-1-32x32.png http://www.kitchenfrau.com 32 32 Saskatoon Jelly http://www.kitchenfrau.com/saskatoon-jelly/ http://www.kitchenfrau.com/saskatoon-jelly/#respond Fri, 21 Jul 2017 17:25:52 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=11906 Preserve up the bounty of sweet summer saskatoon berries in jars of glistening saskatoon jelly. A special ingredient helps enhance the berries’ natural flavour. I’m heading off to my parents’ cabin, and before I go I want to to leave … Continue reading

The post Saskatoon Jelly appeared first on .

]]>
http://www.kitchenfrau.com/saskatoon-jelly/feed/ 0
Gluten Free Saskatoon Scones http://www.kitchenfrau.com/saskatoon-scones/ http://www.kitchenfrau.com/saskatoon-scones/#comments Thu, 20 Jul 2017 15:04:26 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=9261 If you’re lucky enough to be within arm’s reach of a saskatoon berry bush or two (or you’ve got a stash in the freezer), you can celebrate their short but sweet season with some fantastic baked goods – like these … Continue reading

The post Gluten Free Saskatoon Scones appeared first on .

]]>
http://www.kitchenfrau.com/saskatoon-scones/feed/ 4
Garlic Scape Pesto – Summer Magic for Garlic Lovers http://www.kitchenfrau.com/garlic-scape-pesto/ http://www.kitchenfrau.com/garlic-scape-pesto/#comments Thu, 13 Jul 2017 22:19:33 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=11849 Garlic Scape Pesto is a magical, flavour-packed green sauce – intensely garlicky and delicious when used raw; gently garlicky and mellow when used warm. You’ll want to hunt down some garlic scapes to make this amazing pesto. (Freezes well, too.) … Continue reading

The post Garlic Scape Pesto – Summer Magic for Garlic Lovers appeared first on .

]]>
http://www.kitchenfrau.com/garlic-scape-pesto/feed/ 6
Cooking with Kids: Lentil Sloppy Joes http://www.kitchenfrau.com/lentil-sloppy-joes/ http://www.kitchenfrau.com/lentil-sloppy-joes/#comments Mon, 10 Jul 2017 20:24:29 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=11805 Lentil Sloppy Joes are the answer for a delicious meatless meal that will satisfy the whole family. Kids love ’em. Plop the flavourful lentil filling onto buns, top with cheese, and enjoy this fantastically-flavoured, fun, messy meal. Cooking with Meredith … Continue reading

The post Cooking with Kids: Lentil Sloppy Joes appeared first on .

]]>
http://www.kitchenfrau.com/lentil-sloppy-joes/feed/ 6
Fresh Veggie Chow Chow http://www.kitchenfrau.com/veggie-chow-chow/ http://www.kitchenfrau.com/veggie-chow-chow/#comments Fri, 07 Jul 2017 03:22:53 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=11778 This isn’t any ordinary chow chow – it’s Veggie Chow! A tangy mix of crunchy, pickled fresh veggies that you can spoon into salads to add colour and zing, or pile onto a burger, or stir into eggs. Add it … Continue reading

The post Fresh Veggie Chow Chow appeared first on .

]]>
http://www.kitchenfrau.com/veggie-chow-chow/feed/ 6
Chia Pudding with Strawberries – Happy Birthday Canada! http://www.kitchenfrau.com/chia-pudding/ http://www.kitchenfrau.com/chia-pudding/#comments Sat, 01 Jul 2017 06:08:54 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=11730 Chia Pudding is the easiest thing to whip up. Just stir together these protein-packed little seeds with milk and wait for a while. They magically turn into a creamy tapioca-like pudding that’s fun to layer with fruit in a red … Continue reading

The post Chia Pudding with Strawberries – Happy Birthday Canada! appeared first on .

]]>
http://www.kitchenfrau.com/chia-pudding/feed/ 8
A Taste of Mexico: Fish Veracruz Style (Pescado à la Veracruzana) http://www.kitchenfrau.com/fish-veracruz/ http://www.kitchenfrau.com/fish-veracruz/#comments Thu, 29 Jun 2017 20:31:29 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=11650 Mexican Fish Veracruz is a light and flavourful way to prepare fish. The Spanish influence shows in the zesty olives and capers. Bring a spoon to catch the last delicious drops of tomato broth. Last week we were lucky enough … Continue reading

The post A Taste of Mexico: Fish Veracruz Style (Pescado à la Veracruzana) appeared first on .

]]>
http://www.kitchenfrau.com/fish-veracruz/feed/ 4
Pickled Spruce Tips http://www.kitchenfrau.com/pickled-spruce-tips/ Mon, 12 Jun 2017 23:12:51 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=11602 Delicate Pickled Spruce Tips are a special seasonal treat – put them up when the spruce trees are budding in spring and you’ll have delicious, caper-like pickles to add flavour and interest to cheese platters, sandwiches, or salads. Use them … Continue reading

The post Pickled Spruce Tips appeared first on .

]]>
Rhubarb and Spruce Tip Galette – Easier than Pie! http://www.kitchenfrau.com/rhubarb-spruce-tip-galette/ http://www.kitchenfrau.com/rhubarb-spruce-tip-galette/#comments Wed, 07 Jun 2017 01:14:03 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=11543 A rustic rhubarb galette showcases spring’s bounty of mouthwatering fresh rhubarb spiked with another special spring offering – spruce tips! This free-form pie is so easy to make, yet looks like a stunning masterpiece (and tastes like one, too.) It’s … Continue reading

The post Rhubarb and Spruce Tip Galette – Easier than Pie! appeared first on .

]]>
http://www.kitchenfrau.com/rhubarb-spruce-tip-galette/feed/ 2
Big Beautiful Lemon Meringue Pie http://www.kitchenfrau.com/lemon-meringue-pie/ http://www.kitchenfrau.com/lemon-meringue-pie/#comments Thu, 01 Jun 2017 02:19:03 +0000 http://www.kitchenfrau.com/?p=10873 A luscious lemon meringue pie is on the top of the favourite-pie-list for many people. Make this beauty from scratch for the lemon lovers in your family. A smooth and silky custard that’s tart and intensely lemony topped with a … Continue reading

The post Big Beautiful Lemon Meringue Pie appeared first on .

]]>
http://www.kitchenfrau.com/lemon-meringue-pie/feed/ 4